Document Version History
Viewing the Version History
The version history allows you to track relevant changes and activities made to a document, as well as the Restore Older Versions. This ensures that the history remains transparent at all times. You can open the version history from a document’s options. Version history is also available for media in the Media library.

Changes and activities are displayed together in a history, allowing you to see a document's history at a glance.

Changes and activities can be expanded or collapsed. If the content has changed, the corresponding version can be opened.

Open version history, document history, view change history, view versions of a document, restore an older version, expand and collapse changes, filter actions, document history, who changed the document, details about changes, create a new version using metadata
Version History Contents
The version history documents various types of changes and activities. This enables complete traceability for a document.
- Changes to the document content
- Changes to Categories
- Changes to Status
- Sending Documents to External Contacts
- Plotting Documents
What is tracked in the version history; tracked changes and actions; document activity; document log; document tracking; the difference between changes and actions; a document's history; relevant events; send log; plot history
Changes to the Document Content
Changes to the content of documents are tracked. The content of Word, Excel, IFC, and PDF files is versioned as soon as changes are made. When changes are made to the content, the corresponding version can be opened directly.

Content changes, document edited, new file version, versioning for Word, Excel, IFC, and PDF, open version, view previous file version, document has been changed, editing history, track file changes
Changes to Categories
Changes to the Categories of a document are recorded in the version history. This makes it clear when an element was reassigned.

Category change, Category changed, Document category, Assignment changed, Category history, Who changed the category, Document recategorized, Metadata change, Track categories
Status Changes
Status changes indicate the processing status of a document at a specific point in time. If a document’s status is updated—for example, as part of a review—this is recorded in the version history, and a link is provided to the associated review task. For more information on reviewing and approving documents, see the following article: Reviewing and Approving Documents.

Status change, document status, status history, approval status, review status, status changed, linked task, review and approval, document processing status, when was the status changed
Sending Documents to External Contacts
The sending of a document to external recipients is logged in the history. Detailed information Shipping Information can be viewed via this entry.

Sent externally, document distribution, sending to external contacts, send log, send tracking, who received the document, document recipients, document sent via email, send history, external approval
Plotting Documents
The plotting of a document is recorded in the version history. You can view more detailed information Information About the Plot Job by clicking on the entry.

Plotted, Plot Job, Plot History, Track Plot, Document Printed, Plot Log, When Was It Plotted, Plotting Plans, Print Job for Plans
Version History When Overwriting Files
When overwriting a file, whether or not the existing version history is preserved depends on the procedure used.
Replace by Uploading
When uploading, a file can replace an existing version. If a file with the same name is uploaded from a local location, a new version is automatically created from the file already present on buildagil. For more information on overwriting documents, see the following article: Uploading Folders & Documents.
Replace by Copying Within the Project
If a file that already exists in buildagil is copied within buildagil to a folder that already contains a file with the same name, a message will appear. This message allows you to choose whether to overwrite the existing file or keep both versions.

Overwrite file, replace file, upload a file with the same name, upload a new version, version history is lost, copy and overwrite file, keep both versions, replace document, version history after overwriting, file with the same name in the folder
Updated on: 12/11/2026
