Articles on: Contacts & users
This article is also available in:

Users / Contacts / Teams / Contact Groups / Roles


In Contacts, you can filter by type (User / External Contact), role, status, company, teams, and contact groups. This allows you, for example, to find out who is the project administrator and can make changes to the project settings or send invitations to new users. For more information, see the following article: Search & Filter.


User

Users are project participants with access to buildagil. Once created, a user receives a Invitation by email. The content a user can subsequently view and edit depends on the assigned Teams and their role in the project.


The following roles are available:


In the contact list, project administrators are marked with a "gear" icon, and project coordinators are marked with a "network" icon. For more information on creating users, see the following article: Creating Users & External Contacts.


Even if the invitation has not yet been accepted, a user Notifications receives [(e8ee359a-d1fc-4e59-bb9e-d365f917b6b8], Comments, and protocols via email. Unlike External Contacts, a user is notified, for example, when they are assigned as the person responsible for a task.



Users, Project Users, Invite Users, Invitation via Email, Access to buildagil, Project Access, Invitation Not Accepted, Never Logged In, Email Notifications, Difference Between Users and External Contacts, Roles in the Project, Does a User Who Hasn't Logged In Still Receive Emails?

External Contacts

External contacts are project participants who do not have access to buildagil. For example, they can be included in the meeting minutes distribution list for a Meeting or a Control & Inspection and receive the protocols via email. In addition, external contacts can be added to Tasks as responsible parties or collaborators, as well as in Journal Entries as responsible parties. In the contact list, external contacts are marked with “External.” For more information on creating external contacts, see the following article: Creating Users & External Contacts.


External contacts do not receive invitations and are not notified that they have been added to the project or assigned to a task or journal entry. External contacts also cannot be notified via comments.


Documents can be sent to external contacts using the "Send Externally" feature. For more information, see the following article: Sending Documents to External Contacts. If an external contact needs access to buildagil later, they can be converted into a user. For more information, see the following section: Converting External Contacts to Users.



External contact, project participants without access, marked as "External," protocol distribution list, protocols via email, External contact as responsible party, no notification, comments to external parties, send to external parties, convert external contact to user, Is an external contact notified about tasks?

Project Administrators

Project administrators manage the project and control who has access to buildagil. Regardless of the specified visibility settings, they have access to all project content, can modify all content, and are the only ones who can customize the Project settings. They can also add users Invite and Disable. The role can be assigned to Create or Edit of a user. In the contact list, project administrators are marked with a "gear" icon. For more information, see the following article: Visibility & Permissions.



Project Administrator, Admin, Admin Rights, Gear Icon, Customize Project Settings, Send Invitations to Users, Deactivate Users, Access to All Content, Assign Administrator Role, Remove Role, Who Is the Project Administrator?

Project Coordinators

Project coordinators assist project administrators in organizing the project. They can add new users Prepare for the invitation, and the invitation is then released by a project administrator. They can also change the visibility of folders they have created and adjust task statuses and scheduling. This role can be assigned to or revoked from a user during Create or Edit of a user. In the contact list, project coordinators are marked with a "network" icon. For more information, see the following article: Visibility & Permissions.



Project Coordinator, Coordinator, Preparation for Invitation, Approval by Administrator, Visibility of Own Folders, Adjust Task Status, Adjust Scheduling, Assign Coordinator Role, Remove Role, Difference Between Administrator and Coordinator, What Can a Project Coordinator Do?

Teams

Teams are used to control who can see items such as folders, documents, tasks, or meetings. Users and external contacts are assigned to one or more teams. Team assignments can also be used to select multiple people at once, for example, in tasks or information. For more information, see the following article: Visibility & Permissions. Teams can be edited in the Project settings by a project administrator.



Teams, Team Assignment, Control Visibility, View Permissions, Access to Items, Select Multiple People, Assign to a Team, Edit Teams, Project Settings: Teams, Visibility & Permissions, Who Can See My Task?

Contact Groups

Contact groups allow you to group people together across teams. For example, you can define people from different teams with different viewing permissions in a contact group and then add them all to a meeting at once using the quick selection feature. Users and external contacts can be assigned to one or more contact groups, provided that contact groups have been defined in the project. Selection via contact groups is available for all elements, such as tasks and the Comments. Unlike teams, contact groups do not affect visibility. Contact groups can be defined in the Project settings by a project administrator.



Contact groups, cross-team group, quick selection, add meeting participants, group of people, distribution, assign to a contact group, define contact groups, no effect on visibility, difference between a team and a contact group, how do I add multiple people at once?

Updated on: 23/10/2026