Articles on: Documents & plans
This article is also available in:

Archiving or Deactivating Folders

Folders can be set to "Inactive" or "Archived" status from a Project Admin. This makes it easy to see at a glance which folders are no longer active. The “Inactive” status is suitable for folders that are not currently needed. The “Archived” status is used for completed data that needs to be retained but will no longer be edited.


The status is used solely for visual identification. Visibility settings, permissions, and search results remain unchanged: Documents in archived or inactive folders will still appear in search results and can still be edited by teams with write permissions.


To change the status, click in the "Status" column of the desired folder.



The change is then confirmed.



Archived and inactive folders are displayed in gray.



The status is not automatically applied to subfolders. If you need to change the status of multiple folders, you can do so in bulk using the multiple-selection feature. The folder status is not available for individual documents; instead, documents can be set to the "invalid" status. For more information, see the following article: Reviewing and Approving Documents.


To ensure that outdated folders are clearly identifiable in search results, you can also modify the folder name, for example, by adding "(Outdated)" to it.


Archive folder, Deactivate folder, Folder status, Change status, Inactive folder, Archived folder, Grayed-out folder, Effects of archiving, Search archived folders, Archive subfolders, Multiple selection, Invalid document, Outdated file, Old version

Updated on: 23/10/2026