Editing PDFs with Adobe Acrobat
Editing in Adobe Acrobat
PDF documents from buildagil can be edited directly in Adobe Acrobat without having to be downloaded. To prevent other users from saving changes to the same document while it is being edited, the document is checked out when saved and checked back in when closed.

When you open the document, a message appears in Adobe Acrobat. Clicking "Open" enables editing of the document.

The first time you save the document, a message prompting you to check it out will appear. Clicking "Check Out and Save" locks the document so others cannot access it and saves your changes.

When you close the document, a message prompting you to check it in appears; confirm it by clicking "Yes."

In the window that appears, click "OK" to sync the document with buildagil and release it for others again.


Adobe Acrobat, Acrobat Pro, Acrobat Reader, edit PDF, PDF editor, check out, check in, check out and save, checked-out document, locked document, simultaneous editing, synchronization, save changes to buildagil
Troubleshooting
Troubleshooting Problems with Opening Documents
When opening documents with Adobe Acrobat, the following message may appear: "You are trying to open a SharePoint file. Configure the storage connection here to access the files from $EmailID$." This is due to a change in the authentication workflow by Adobe, which means it is no longer possible to open the documents directly.

Alternatively, you can open the documents using OneDrive. The article Editing PDF Documents with Local Programs explains how to change your PDF viewer.
Troubleshooting Document Saving Issues
If a PDF document is opened in Adobe Acrobat and the "Save As" dialog box appears when you try to save it, the document cannot be saved back to buildagil.

You can work around this behavior by disabling the "Enable Protected Mode at Startup" option in Adobe Acrobat's advanced security settings. After that, you can save the document directly to buildagil again.

Updated on: 23/10/2026
